Society of Arts

New members of the Society of Arts

See more


Previous Next


The Society will give artists a place to share ideas with professionals in science and other artistic disciplines. They will focus on the role of the arts in society and the relationship between science and the arts. The Society is the only platform where individual artists can express their views. The Society of Arts, which was founded in part at the instigation of Jet Bussemaker, Dutch Minister of Education, Culture and Science, has been established for a period of at least three and a half years.

The Society of Arts was launched on 23 April 2014. From left: Erwin Olaf, Henny Vrienten, Colin Benders (Kyteman), A.F.Th van der Heijden, Barbara Visser, Arnon Grunberg, Ramsey Nasr, Culture Minister Jet Bussemaker, Gijs Scholten van Aschat, Academy President Hans Clevers, Viktor Horsting, Francine Houben, Rolf Snoeren, Johan Simons, Charlotte Mutsaers and Michel van der Aa. Not pictured: Anton Corbijn, Janine Jansen, Aernout Mik, Paul Verhoeven and Jaap van Zweden.

Who is eligible for membership?

Artists will be selected for membership based on their artistic merits, regardless of their discipline. Artists working in literature, the fine arts, design and architecture, film, music and the performing arts in the broadest sense are eligible for membership.

The selection criteria are:

  • The artist must have distinguished himself or herself artistically.
  • The artist must be able to connect art, science and society.
  • The artist must inspire other artists and be willing to contribute to the new Society.

The first set of members was nominated by the publicly funded cultural funds and by members of the Royal Academy and The Young Academy. A committee of Royal Academy members made the final selection, based on expert recommendations from the world of art and culture. Efforts were made to select members from across the artistic disciplines. From this point forward, the Society of Arts will select its own members. The number of members will increase to approximately fifty in the years ahead.