Lorentz Medal

The Lorentz Medal draws attention to ground-breaking research in theoretical physics.

The Lorentz Medal is awarded every four years to a researcher who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of theoretical physics.

The award was established in 1925 to mark the fiftieth anniversary of Prof. Hendrik Antoon Lorentz’s doctorate. Hendrik Antoon Lorentz (1853-1928) was a member of the Academy. He was the founding father of theoretical physics in the Netherlands and won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1902.

The laureate receives a medal engraved with the image of Hendrik Antoon Lorentz. The award ceremony will take place during a symposium focusing on the laureate’s research interest.



Who is it for?

Internationally renowned researchers in the field of theoretical physics 

Nomination and award

The Lorentz Medal will be awarded again in 2018 at a symposium on the scientific subject of the laureate.