Ammodo Science Award

The Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research encourages unfettered, fundamental scientific research and covers all scientific disciplines divided into four domains: Biomedical Sciences, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences. The Award serves as recognition of scientific achievements by outstanding, internationally acclaimed mid-career researchers.

The Award consists of eight prizes, each worth 300,000 euros, made available by Ammodo. The recipients may spend this amount at their discretion to fund fundamental scientific research.

The bi-annual Award was established in 2014 by Ammodo and the Academy. As of 2018, the Academy is solely responsible for the nomination and selection procedure. The name has been changed into Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research. The Awards are made available by Ammodo who also takes care of the festive Award Ceremony.


  • Biomedical sciences
  • Humanities
  • Natural sciences
  • Social sciences

A maximum of two researchers may receive the award in each of these domains.

Who is it for?

Eligible candidates for the Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research are internationally acclaimed researchers working at a Dutch university or research institute who received their PhDs no more than fifteen years previously.

Laureates are expected to make an innovative contribution to unfettered fundamental scientific research.

Nomination and award ceremony

The award ceremony will take place on 14 September 2021.

Next round for this Award opens in 2022.

For more information please see the Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research website.