Bakhuis Roozeboom Medal

Every four years, the Academy awards a medal to a researcher who has made a significant contribution to phase theory.

A group of scholars established the medal in 1911 in recognition of the work of the physicist and Academy member Professor H.W. Bakhuis Roozeboom (1854-1907). In 1992, various third parties – including Ms E.C. Bakhuis Roozeboom-Dros, the University of Amsterdam, and the Scheffer Fund (Delft University of Technology) – made donations to the existing Bakhuis Roozeboom Fund.

The laureate receives a medal engraved with the image of H.W. Bakhuis Roozeboom. The award ceremony will take place during an Academy event in combination with the award ceremony of the Gilles Holst Medal.


Phase theory: research into the phase behaviour of matter in classical or quantum systems and/or non-equilibrium phases in dynamic systems.

Who is it for?

Researchers in the Netherlands or abroad who have made a pioneering contribution to phase theory (see above).

Nomination procedure

Nominations are not being accepted at this time.