Heineken Prize for Cognitive Sciences

The C.L. de Carvalho-Heineken Prize for Cognitive Sciences is awarded to a distinguished researcher in cognitive science. The prize highlights the importance of investigating the cognitive functions of humans and animals.

The Heineken Prize for Cognitive Sciences is awarded every two years since 2006. The prize consists of a sculpture designed by artist Don Staakman and USD 200,000. The prize is funded by the Alfred Heineken Fondsen Foundation.


Cognitive Sciences

Who is the prize intended for?

An active, top international researcher in cognitive science whose scientific work still shows significant promise.

Nomination and awards ceremony

The following can nominate researchers for the Dr. H.P. Heineken Prize for Cognitive Sciences:

  • Individual professors from universities in the Netherlands and elsewhere;
  • Members of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences;
  • Boards of management and deans of universities in the Netherlands;
  • Directors of research institutes in the Netherlands;
  • Academies and other scientific or scholarly institutions in the Netherlands and elsewhere;
  • The board of the Dutch Network of Women Professors (Landelijk Netwerk Vrouwelijke Hoogleraren).

The deadline for nominating candidates has passed.

The awards ceremony will be held late 2022.

The next call for nominations for this Prize will open in 2023.