Assessment Committee of the De la Court Prize

The Academy awards the De la Court Prize to an individual every other year for conducting research without financial reward, for example a large body of work, life achievement or outstanding accomplishment in the humanities or social sciences.

The De la Court Prize consists of a silver medal and a monetary award of EUR 7500. The award ceremony forms part of a symposium held in the laureate’s discipline.

Pieter and Johan de la Court were influential tradesmen in seventeenth-century Leiden. The Johan de la Court Prize and the Pieter de la Court Prize were established in 1985. In 1999 they were merged into the De la Court Prize.