Dr Hendrik Muller Prize 2005 for Jan-Benedict Steenkamp and Michel Wedel

Jan-Benedict Steenkamp and Michel Wedel, both Professors of Marketing, were awarded the 2005 Dr Hendrik Muller Prize for Behavioural and Social Sciences.

According to the Academy, Steenkamp and Wedel have put the Netherlands on the map with respect to international, scientifically grounded marketing research. Their work has enhanced the image and status of marketing considerably and brought it into the domain of academia. The jury is awarding the prize to Jan-Benedict Steenkamp and Michel Wedel not only to recognise their outstanding achievements as scientists but also to acknowledge the field of marketing as a scientific discipline.