Andries Meijerink

Chemist and Utrecht University professor Andries Meijerink will receive the Gilles Holst Medal 2019. Meijerink has been awarded the medal for modelling, making and characterising new luminous materials that improve the efficiency of lighting and solar cells.

Andries Meijerink, Professor of Solid State Chemistry at the Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science, Utrecht University, is an internationally renowned expert in the design, composition and understanding of materials that emit light. His research is crucial for the transition to a sustainable society in which efficient lighting and the conversion of sunlight into electricity will play a pivotal role.

Meijerink studies crystalline solids and nanocrystals to which luminescent ions are added. He develops a new luminous material, produces it in the lab, analyses it from atomic level right up to its overall properties, and then uses his findings to deliver a practical application. Meijerink's work has resulted in a better understanding of the quantum-mechanical interactions between ions. He has, furthermore, used this understanding to develop practical applications, for example to boost the light output of red LED lamps.

Source: Utrecht University

Throughout his career, Andries Meijerink has combined several demanding management positions with outstanding research, for which he has received the Centennial Award for Luminescence and Display Materials from the Electrochemical Society, the Gold Medal from the Royal Dutch Chemical Society, the Shell Incentive Award, and other prizes. Meijerink is also an enthusiastic and popular teacher. In the past twelve years, for example,  the Utrecht Chemistry Student Association Proton awarded him the education prize for best freshman instructor no less than seven times.

About the laureate

Andries Meijerink (1963) received his PhD in Chemistry at Utrecht University. After working as a post-doc  at the University of Wisconsin, Madison (USA), he returned to Utrecht and in 1996 accepted a full-time professorship at Utrecht University, where he was dean of the Faculty of Chemistry from 2004 to 2007. He has been a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences since 2009. He has published more than 330 articles and holds ten patents.