Bakhuis Roozeboom Medal 2019 for George Jackson

15 October 2019

Chemical physicist George Jackson of Imperial College London has been awarded the Bakhuis Roozeboom Medal this year by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is receiving the medal for his models of the thermodynamic behaviour of complex fluids, which are used in the carbon capture, oil and gas exploration,  pharmaceutical and other industries.

George Jackson, Professor of Chemical Physics at Imperial College London, is a world leader in the development and use of molecular methods to simulate the thermodynamic properties of complex fluids. His work is both theoretical and application-driven.

Jackson is one of the spiritual fathers of the statistical associating fluid theory (SAFT), a group of equations of state that very precisely predicts the thermodynamic properties of complex fluid mixtures. His research has put him at the forefront of a new discipline, Molecular Systems Engineering, which engineers new processes and products at the molecular level.

Realistic models

 Jackson's modelling is based on simplified but realistic models of the molecular interactions that take place in a fluid. His models predict the thermodyanmics, structure, and transport of mixtures, and the conditions under which equilibria will occur between the fluid phases of the individual components. His work has led to a better understanding of the behaviour of all kinds of mixtures, ranging from liquid crystals, polymers and membranes to biological systems.

Companies such as Shell, BP, Pfizer, P&G and the Borealis Group use his models in a wide range of industrial applications, ranging from gas extraction, cosmetics and pharmaceuticals to carbon capture and storage.

Jackson has been a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry since 1995 and the Mexican Academy of Molecular Engineering since 2001. In 2014 he was awarded the Guggenheim Medal for Excellence in Thermodynamics from the Institution of Chemical Engineers, and will be receiving the 2020 Rossini Award from International Association of Chemical Thermodynamics. His research group received the Research Excellence Award in 2009 and the Imperial College London President's Award for Outstanding Research Team in 2016.

Curriculum vitae

George Jackson (1962) has been professor of Chemical Physics at Imperial College London (UK) since 2001. After receiving his PhD at the University of Oxford, he worked at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York (USA) and the University of Sheffield (UK).

Bakhuis Roozeboom Medal

A group of scholars established the Bakhuis Roozeboom Medal in 1911 in recognition of the work of the physicist and Academy member Prof. H.W. Bakhuis Roozeboom (1854-1907). The medal is awarded every four years to a researcher who has made a significant contribution to phase theory. The laureate will take receipt of the medal during a special ceremony on 20 January 2020.

Award ceremony

The award ceremony will take place on 20 January 2020 at the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, Trippenhuis Building in Amsterdam.