Press photos Heineken Prizes 2018

Re-use of these photographs must be accompanied by proper attribution: Jussi Puikkonen/KNAW

Peter CarmelietProfessor of Medicine at the University of Leuven (Belgium), is receiving the 2018 Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for Medicine for his research into the effects of growth factors on endothelial and nerve cells and for his efforts to develop treatments for vascular and neurological disorders based on his research findings. 


Paul D.N. Hebert, Research Chair in Molecular Biodiversity at the University of Guelph (Canada),is receiving the 2018 Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for Environmental Sciences for his pivotal contribution to developing a genetic barcode capable of classifying every biological species on Earth. 


Nancy Kanwisher, Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge (USA), is receiving the 2018 C.L. de Carvalho-Heineken Prize for Cognitive Science for her highly original, meticulous and cogent research on the functional organisation of the human brain. 



John R. McNeill, Professor of History at Georgetown University in Washington D.C. (USA), is receiving the 2018 Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for History for his important work in integrating two recent branches of the study of history: global history and environmental history. 



Xiaowei Zhuang, Professor of Physics, Chemistry and Chemical Biology at Harvard University in Cambridge (USA), is receiving the 2018 Dr H.P. Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics for her groundbreaking work on developing high-resolution imaging methods and their use in investigating a variety of fundamental biological problems.


The 2018 Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for Art will be awarded to visual artist Erik van Lieshout.